Cal Poly Humboldt’s 8th President Dr. Tom Jackson, Jr.

Cal Poly Humboldt's Next President

Dr. Tom Jackson, Jr.
Cal Poly Humboldt's 8th President

You can send a note to Dr. Jackson at

The California State University (CSU) Board of Trustees has appointed Tom Jackson, Jr., Ed.D., to serve as president of Cal Poly Humboldt (Humboldt). Jackson currently serves as president of Black Hills State University (BHumboldt) in Spearfish, South Dakota.

“There are few institutions that are as closely tied to the success of their respective communities as Humboldt. A degree from Humboldt can lift the life of the person earning it as well as the lives of their family, and those degree holders drive the success of the entire North Coast,” said Jackson. “I welcome the opportunity to work with Humboldt’s talented faculty and staff, alongside community members, to ensure that those life-altering opportunities are expanded for current and future students.”

Jackson becomes the eighth president of Humboldt and the first African American to serve in that role. He will join the campus in his new capacity in July. Jackson succeeds Lisa Rossbacher who will be retiring at the end of June 2019 after serving as Humboldt president since 2014.

“Dr. Jackson has been an inspirational leader who has demonstrable success at the highest levels of university administration,” said CSU Trustee Peter Taylor, chair of the Humboldt search committee. “Throughout his career, he has been a champion for access, quality and student success, all hallmarks of the Humboldt mission.”

Jackson has been president of BHumboldt since 2014. He has held other leadership roles within higher education including vice president for student affairs at both the University of Louisville and Texas A&M University-Kingsville. He has also held administrative positions and served on the faculty at McMurry University, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo, the University of Southern California and St. Mary’s University.

Jackson earned an associate’s degree from Highline Community College, a bachelor’s degree in business management/personnel from Southwest State University, a master’s in counseling/student personnel from Shippensburg University and a doctorate of education from the University of La Verne. A first-generation student, Jackson is also a veteran of the U.S. Coast Guard Reserve, Army National Guard, Texas State Guard and Indiana Guard Reserve.